June 2017
DMGS Capitol Commentary- NJ Primary Election
The Results: 2017 New Jersey Primary

On June 6, 2017 New Jersey held it's highly anticipated statewide primary. WIth the most watched race both in NJ and the larger region being the Gubernatorial primary, as the outcome decided who will represent their party in the General Election to ultimately replace Governor Chris Christie. 

In addition to the Gubernatorial primary, several legislative seats were challenged. The 2017 primary has been referred to as one of the largest fields of candidates the state has seen in a dozen years, with far more contested seats than in 2015.

Read our full NJ Primary Recap at our Capitol Commentary blog 

Gubernatorial Primary
The Gubernatorial primary played out nearly as anticipated, with Ambassador Phil Murphy (48.3%) and Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno (46.8%) receiving their party’s nominations.
Key Senate Races
LD-7:  Assemblyman Troy Singleton ran uncontested in the Democratic primary for the district’s Senate seat, which is being vacated by retiring  Republican Diane Allen. Singleton will face Riverside Committeeman  Rob Prisco, who ran uncontested in the GOP primary.
  LD-17: In the Democratic primary in LD-14, incumbent  Senator Bob Smith defeated challenger William Irwin with 72% of the vote. Irwin, the President of the Piscataway school board and a progressive activist, unsuccessfully attempted to capitalize on momentum seen by other “outsider” candidates.
LD-24: In the Republican primary in LD-24, incumbent  Senator Steven Oroho successfully defended his seat against challenger William Haveden, receiving 75% of the vote. The district–among North Jersey’s most Conservative–saw the Gas Tax as a major issue in the race by the challenger. Fortunately for incumbent Oroho, this did not resonate with voters.
Key Assembly Races
  LD-2: In the Democratic Primary for LD-2, incumbent  Assemblyman Vincent Mazzeo, and John Armato defeated a large field of four other candidates to receive their party’s nomination. Republican Assemblyman Chris A. Brown is running for retiring Senator Jim Whelan’s seat.
LD-26: In the Republican primary in LD-26, incumbents  Assemblyman Jay Webber and Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce retained their nominations and will face off against Democratic challengers  William Edge and Joseph Raich. In the GOP primary, Assemblywoman fought off challengers Hank Lyon and John Cesaro, both Morris County Freeholders, who criticized her for her support of the Gas Tax. 

LD-40: The Assembly primary for LD-40 was just as heated as the Senate primary. For the GOP, incumbent  Assemblyman Kevin Rooney held on to his seat, along with former Wykoff mayo r Christopher DePhillips. Rooney and DePhillips ran as a slate with Kristin Corrado, defeating former State Senator Norman Robertson and Joseph Bubba.

Make sure to follow  DMGS on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn for real-time updates. Also, check out  www.capitol-commentary.com for further in-depth analysis on PA, NJ, OH, NY, DC, and beyond. If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions, please contact  Brett Goldman, DMGS Manager of Special Projects.
Duane Morris Government Strategies | 609-577-3687 | info@dmgs.com | www.dmgs.com